What are Chakras? | What do the Chakras do? | The 7 Chakras
Working with the Chakras

What are Chakras?

The Chakras are spinning 'wheels' of energy located in the body from the Crown to the Base as shown in the diagram below.  These are the 7 main Chakras, but other minor Chakras exist in the body, including the palm of the hands.  Chakras help to maintain your physical, mental, emotional and spiritual balance. Associated crystal gems, colours and scents are often used in Chakra Healing. 

When using crystals with the Chakras, it is normal to lie on your back and place the appropriate crystal on the Chakra points shown in the diagram below. You will see that several different crystals are listed for each Chakra, and some crystals may also be used for different Chakras.  For example, an Amethyst is a good c hoice for the Crown Chakra because of its violet colour, but the same crystal can also be used for the Third Eye because of the spiritual properties of Amethyst. 

Chakra crystal kits are available (via our Web Store) complete with the appropriate gemstones.  These also include details and a guide explaining how to work effectively on the various Chakras.  Further details can be found below that explain how to work with the Chakras.

Many good books are available covering the Chakras in greater detail. Please see our book section for more information on this fascinating subject.  


What do the Chakras do?

Base Chakra (1st)

This Chakra is responsible for grounding and is said to be an energiser to the physical body.

Sacral Chakra (2nd)

This is said to be helpful when relating to people, and also for sexual energy and eating disorders.

Solar Plexus Chakra (3rd)

Said to help clear thought and for establishing your Power Centre.

Heart Chakra (4th)

Responsible for both giving and receiving universal and unconditional love.  Also for feelings of self-worth.

Throat Chakra (5th)

This is the communication Chakra and is said to encourage the ability to express oneself in an honest and clear way.

Third Eye Chakra (6th)

The centre of intuition and psychic abilities.

Crown Chakra (7th)

This Chakra is associated with opening up to infinate energies and developing a link to your own higher self and mind. 


The 7 Chakras



7th (Crown) 
Colour: Violet, White, Gold
Crystals: Amethyst, Purple Fluorite, Clear Quartz, Diamond 
Scent: Lavender, Frankincense 
Element: Spirit 
Sense: ESP 

6th (Third Eye) 
Colour: Indigo, Violet
Crystals: Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Sapphire, Amethyst, Fluorite, Clear Quartz 
Scent: Juniper, Rosemary 
Element: Electrical 
Sense: Sight 

5th (Throat) 
Colour: Blue
Crystals: Turquoise, Blue Topaz, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Aquamarine, Celestine 
Scent: Chamomile, Eucalyptus 
Element: Spirit & Air 
Sense: Sound 

4th (Heart) 
Colour: Green/Pink
Crystals: Green and Pink Tourmaline, Green Jade, Green Aventurine, Emerald, Rose Quartz 
Scent: Rose, Ylang Ylang 
Element: Air 
Sense: Smell 

3rd (Solar Plexus) 
Colour: Yellow
Crystals: Amber, Tiger's Eye, Yellow Citrine, Yellow Calcite, Gold 
Scent: Chamomile, Eucalyptus 
Element: Fire 
Sense: Taste 

2nd (Sacral/Spleen) 
Colour: Orange
Crystals: Carnelian, Golden Topaz, Citrine, Amber, Gold Calcite 
Scent: Jasmine, Sandalwood 
Element: Water 
Sense: Taste 

1st (Root/Base) 
Colour: Red (or Black/Grounding crystals/colours)
Crystals: Garnet, Ruby, Red Jasper, Bloodstone, Smoky Quartz, Hematite, Obsidian 
Scent: Patchouli, Geranium 
Element: Earth 
Sense: Touch